Dangerous Idea #8 – “God and Religion are secular inventions”

Most of religion had become nonsense to me by July of 2013.
Except for one thing. To care about others because God said so. I liked the religious command to reach out of oneself to help other people, the injunction to be compassionate toward other people.

Despite being an Atheist, the command “Love thy neighbor” was still appealing to me. I even wondered if this meant there was a “god shaped hole in my heart.”

After losing God, I felt I was losing my reminder to be empathetic toward other people and this concerned me. I did not want to lose my empathy and didn’t know yet whether Atheism offered an alternative positive suggestion by itself. Because of my upbringing, this demand to care about others seemed tied to Christianity somehow.

“Love thy neighbor”

Religion is structured in such a way that god acts as an excuse to be compassionate toward others – to pray for others. It is a simple belief that one is helping someone by praying for them. Too bad prayer is so statistically ineffective.

But this command to care was the remaining bit about religion which kept me slightly unsure about calling myself an Atheist. I always liked praying for other people when I was Christian.

Prayer gave me a method to do something – regardless of its lack of influence – it seemed to improve me as a person.

Then, in an interview I heard a well-known Atheist point out, “All of religion is secular, it is all manmade; from God to the dogma.”

This was an amazingly important and timely insight. And it was all I needed.

The morality inherent in a secular life is no different than the highest ideals claimed by religion. In other words, It is all secular! Even God. And that includes prayer; the act of wishing someone well.

Religion doesn’t own something separate from that which the Atheist can own. Because God and all the constructions around religious belief is just a construction of men. I am therefore free to accept my natural inclination toward empathy and compassion as a beautiful and fully secular activity. I do not need to pray to a god (who is not there) or to ask for permission to wish someone well. I can just do it.

I’ll clarify a bit:
If there are particular things I happen to like about religion, I am free to keep them as I wish. Religion is a subset of secularism. The wisdom of empathy is its own reward and needs no divine command.

It took me 6 months of Atheism to get to this point.
That is a sign of the powerful grip religion had on my mind.

Religious indoctrination is incredibly hard to shake off. Up to now I had separated religion from secularism. That was wrong.

God is secular!
By July 16, 2013, I finally felt free of religion.

About Atheist Max

I'm a former Christian who became Atheist in middle age. My blog is a journal of how I lost religion and discovered a better life. For Peace, Civility and the Separation of Church and State
This entry was posted in Atheism, Empathy, god, godless, Nonbelief, religion, unbelief and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dangerous Idea #8 – “God and Religion are secular inventions”

  1. miracleofthesun1917 says:

    Dear “Atheist Max”

    I need you to watch these links before you shuffle off this mortal coil – Okay!

    Here they are!

    The Star of Bethlehem PROVEN to be a real, tangible astronomical event – recreating with the aid of computer software – the positions of the Constellations to the relevant time – “Copernicus” was actually a Catholic Priest.


    Dr Ricardo Castanon PHD – Faith and Science (A former Atheist proves the Real Presence of Our Lord Jesus Christ)

    The Eucharistic Miracle of Lanciano

    Physical Evidence of Jesus Christ #2: Shroud of Turin and Christ and the Sudarium.

    Science Tests Faith: Miracles of the Eucharist.

    Father Zlatko Sudac – Visionary, Stigmatic Croatian Priest. He suffers the Passion and death of Christ every Friday.




    Film about the apparitions of Fatima 1917



    Catholic Prophecy from approved sources

    The Kiss of Judas Iscariot (what the Saints of the Past – said about today’s Church)

    St Michael the Holy Archangel (Some of his Apparitions)

    Fr Hesse – a Canon Lawyer speaks about the New Catholic Mass

    This article from the Catholic Gazette (English) 1936 exposes the truth of what is happening today.

    Click to access tm2_jewish_peril.pdf

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uMFAhW_ZmV8 Global WARMING

    God Bless you – I’ll send one more comment – with some texts.

    Like

  2. miracleofthesun1917 says:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uTDM6Ji-fD0 Great Testimony of former Muslim Terrorist He was rescued from a demonic force trying to strangle him by Our Lord Jesus Christ.!

    Read this newspaper article – So much is contained in it that will change your viewpoint against the Church

    Click to access tm2_jewish_peril.pdf

    Then read this

    http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/mod/1846sallette.asp

    and this

    http://www.miraclehunter.com/marian_apparitions/approved_apparitions/akita/

    OCTOBER 13, 1973 Our Lady’s message to Sr Agnew Sasagowa in her Japanese Convent (

    “My dear daughter, listen well to what I have to say to you. You will inform your superior.”

    “As I told you, if men do not repent and better themselves, the Father will inflict a terrible punishment on all humanity. It will be a punishment greater than the deluge, such as one will never seen before. Fire will fall from the sky and will wipe out a great part of humanity, the good as well as the bad, sparing neither priests nor faithful. The survivors will find themselves so desolate that they will envy the dead. The only arms which will remain for you will be the Rosary and the Sign left by My Son. Each day recite the prayers of the Rosary. With the Rosary, pray for the Pope, the bishops and priests.”

    “The work of the devil will infiltrate even into the Church in such a way that one will see cardinals opposing cardinals, bishops against bishops. The priests who venerate me will be scorned and opposed by their confreres…churches and altars sacked; the Church will be full of those who accept compromises and the demon will press many priests and consecrated souls to leave the service of the Lord.”

    Why do we not hear of this Saint? Medically supervised – kept in Hospital for over a month, emerging baffling Science. She was proven to be surviving for years on JUST ONE CONSECRATED CATHOLIC EUCHARIST a day, with no other liquids or sustenance at all.
    Her name was Marie Julie Jahenny of La Fraudais France,

    http://www.communityofhopeinc.org/Prayer%20Pages/Saints/marie%20julie.html

    Then read of the letter Our Lord Jesus Christ sent to Mussolini warning him not to invade Italy via a Stigmatic Cloistered Nun.

    http://www.mysticsofthechurch.com/2011/09/blessed-elena-aiello-mystic-stigmatic.html

    Finally – These are great Documentaries

    Dr Steve Ray – Footprints of God – Peter; keeper of the Keys (Holy Land based Documentary)
    http://gloria.tv/?media=403923

    Dr Steve Ray – Footprints of God – Mary; “Gebirah” and also Mother of God (Holy Land based Documentary)
    http://gloria.tv/?media=404384

    Dr Steve Ray – Footprints of God – Paul – Contending for the Catholic Faith (Holy Land based Documentary)
    http://gloria.tv/?media=404823

    Dr Brant Pitre – Jesus and the Jewish Roots of the Eucharist

    Dr Brant Pitre – The Faith of Abraham and the Spiritual Life

    Documentary – The Tilma of Guadalupe – Living Image

    The Turin Shroud – A Scientific View (The most comprehensive look at the Shroud ever)

    34 Thousand Billion Watts

    Like

Leave a comment