IS IT BIGOTED TO TEST CLAIMS?

Suppose my friend said, “Johnny Depp loves me and I get great comfort in knowing 8339634-256-k236844it.” 

Though such a claim is unlikely to be true, I cannot prove she is mistaken without more information. It is possible Depp learned of my friend on Facebook, the internet or some other way and came to know her and fell madly in love.

But what would be the proper, moral way to respond to my friend’s claim?

A: “Good for you, I admire your faith.”
B: “Believing this is better than not believing.”
C: “Only a bigot would disagree with you.”
D: “What evidence do you have for this?”

The correct answer is D.
Hopefully C jumped out as particularly ridiculous.

A caring friend would better examine the situation by asking questions to determine if the friend needs mental care. If a person is believing a false idea they may act in a way to endanger themselves or someone else.

– Atheist Max

About Atheist Max

I'm a former Christian who became Atheist in middle age. My blog is a journal of how I lost religion and discovered a better life. For Peace, Civility and the Separation of Church and State
This entry was posted in agnostic, Atheism, dishonesty in religion and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment